Circuit Court – 17th Judicial Circuit

Supreme Court of Virginia Orders Declaring and Extending Judicial Emergency

Announcement Regarding Jury Plan   Approved Jury Resumption Plan

Circuit Court First Interim Plan to Resume Trials and Hearings 

General Order Resetting Criminal Jury Trials to Status Dates Through Oct. 11 2020

Order Setting Status Dates Criminal – 8-25-2020

General Order Regarding Criminal Jury Trials

General Order Requiring Face Coverings in Courthouse

Updated and Amended Circuit Court COVID-19 Memorandum

Order Regarding COVID-19

COVID-19 Order re: Criminal Cases 4-3-2020

COVID-19 GAL in Adult Guardianship Cases 4-8-2020

COVID-19 In Person and Virtual Hearings 8-23-2021

2022 Circuit Court Calendar(XLSX, 173KB)

The Circuit Court Clerk’s office is open to walk-in customers daily from 8am – 4pm. Considering the COVID pandemic, customers are encouraged to use remote processes as much as possible. Please use the eRecording and eFiling systems for fastest service. Effective March 15, 2021, the Circuit Court Clerk’s office no longer accepts filings sent by email.

Marriage license issuance is BY APPOINTMENT ONLY. For more information, please visit our marriage page.

Effective January 1, 2020, the Arlington Circuit Court Clerk’s Office will no longer accept new certificates of assumed or fictitious trade names. All new trade name certificates will be filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission

Arlington County Circuit Court’s Online Payment System 

Arlington Circuit Court Jury Fraud Alert

Circuit Court of Arlington/Falls Church


The Clerk of the Circuit Court is an elected constitutional office in each county and large city in Virginia and performs more varied functions than any other office in the Commonwealth.

Paul Ferguson was elected to serve as Clerk of the Circuit Court of Arlington County and the City of Falls Church beginning January 1, 2008.

The Circuit Court is the only trial court of general jurisdiction in Virginia. In Arlington, the 17th Judicial District includes the City of Falls Church. Circuit Court judges are elected by a majority vote of each House of the General Assembly, and serve for eight-year terms.

The 17th Judicial Circuit is comprised of four judges: Honorable William T. Newman Jr., Chief Judge; Honorable Daniel S. Fiore II; Honorable Louise M. DiMatteo; and Honorable Judith L. Wheat.

Courtroom Technologies Overview

Information on inclement weather and closings

Clerk’s Office Contact Information

(Mon. – Fri. 8am to 4pm)
1425 N Courthouse Rd, 6th Floor
Arlington, VA 22201
Email Circuit Court

Civil Division (Suite 6700): 703-228-7010
Criminal Division (Suite 6100): 703-228-4399
Land Records (Suite 6200): 703-228-4369
Probate (Suite 6300): 703-228-4376
Judicial Chambers: 703-228-7000
Courtroom technology requests: Dwayne Blount
Freedom of Information (FOIA) Officer: Christopher Falcon

Address and Hours of Operation

Cell phones and other electronic devices are not permitted in the Courthouse. View courthouse security policy.