Fire Station #8 Task Force

Note: The Fire Station #8 Task Force completed its work in 2016. More on the replacement project.

In September 2015, the County Board accepted a recommendation from County Manager Mark Schwartz to create a community task force to help determine how best to move forward with Fire Station #8. The County Board appointed the Fire Station #8 Task Force on Dec. 15, 2015.

Task Force Charge

  • Review viable sites for a replacement Fire Station #8 (currently located at Lee Highway and North Culpeper Street)
  • Identify potential sites that meet the fire department’s operational criteria to include:
    • Improve fire/EMS response times
    • Location(s) that does not adversely affect response elsewhere in the County
    • A site that is able to accommodate a 3 or 4 bay station with drive-through access and parking for 12 personal vehicles
    • A site on, or in close proximity to, an arterial street
  • Balance service needs with cost (operating and capital)
  • Recommend a site based on the consensus of the Task Force membership; if no consensus can be reached, provide 2-3 sites with justifications for each

Meeting Materials
Meeting #9 May 12
Meeting # 8 April 28
Meeting #7 April 14
Meeting #6 March 24
Meeting #5 March 10
Meeting #4 February 25
Meeting #3 February 11
Meeting #2 February 4
Meeting #1 January 14

Relevant Documents

Photos of Fire Station #8

An online photo gallery shows the inside, outside and surrounding area.

Fire Station #8

Task Force Members

  • Noah Simon (Chair)
  • Alisa Cowen – Old Dominion Civic Association
  • Michael Hogan – Old Dominion Civic Association
  • Marguarite Gooden – John M. Langston Civic Association
  • Rodney Turner – John M. Langston Civic Association
  • Anne Wilson (Scott Wilson alternate) – Donaldson Run Civic Association
  • Frank McDermott – Bellevue Forest Civic Association
  • Richard Samp – Old Glebe Civic Association
  • Jim Pebley – Emergency Preparedness Advisory Commission
  • Patrick Bogenberger – Fiscal Affairs Advisory Commission
  • James Schroll – Planning Commission
  • Terri Prell – Arlington Civic Federation


4845 Lee Highway, Arlington, VA 22207  View Map

Google Map