Couldn't make it to the Awards Celebration? View photos and watch a recording.

Learn more about the winning projects

Design professionals and local property owners may submit public or private projects completed in Arlington County since 2017. Eligible projects can be residential, commercial or institutional / civic in nature and may include:

  • New construction
  • Renovations
  • Additions
  • Historic preservation / rehabilitation / adaptive re-use
  • Projects
  • Public art
  • Open space and landscape projects (plazas, parks, streetscapes, green infrastructure) 


Entries will be judged on their overall design quality according to their own merit, not in competition with each other. A jury of architecture, urban design, historic preservation, public art and landscape design professionals will review all nominations and select winners. The jury will decide the number of awards that will be distributed.

DESIGNArlington awards recognize projects that represent the best of Arlington. They achieve excellence in accordance with the County’s design priorities, including:

  • Visual composition and aesthetics
  • Relationship to the context
  • Contributions to a sense of place that defines Arlington
  • Sustainable design and development
  • Accessibility to all people regardless of their age or ability
  • Preservation of historic buildings, facades, elements and character
  • High-quality craftsmanship
  • Creative use of durable materials 

Past Winners

View past DESIGNArlington award winners


The County Board sought to highlight Arlington’s architectural diversity and to create role models of projects with excellent design. Developed in 2009, the DESIGNArlington awards program is administered by the Department of Community Planning, Housing and Development’s Urban Design team. The program recognizes design excellence in Arlington’s built environment and strives to increase public awareness of outstanding design. The competition takes place every two years. Residents, property owners, developers, architects and other members of the design community may enter design projects in the areas of new construction, renovations, additions or adaptive re-use. Awards are given in two categories: Award of Excellence and Award of Merit.