For Family Members / Concerned Persons

According to the American Society of Addiction Medicine, Addiction is a chronic and relapsing disease. Addiction does not just impact the individual, it can also have an immense impact on the family members and loved ones of the person suffering from addiction. Sometimes we wonder if a family member or loved one is trying to be difficult or we may find ourselves looking for something or someone to blame.  Remember, your loved one is suffering from a disease and no one chooses to experience this disease.

Watch a visual representation of the experience of addiction:

Family Resources/Support

Al Anon– https://al-anon.org/
For individuals with loved ones struggling with alcohol use

Ala teen– https://al-anon.org/newcomers/teen-corner-alateen/
For teens with loved ones struggling with alcohol use

Nar Anon– https://www.nar-anon.org/
For family members with loved ones struggling with addiction

Families Anonymous – https://www.familiesanonymous.org/
For family members with a loved one struggling with addiction and/or concern that a loved one may be struggling with addiction. Online meetings and in person in Annandale & Fairfax

Smart Recovery – https://www.smartrecovery.org/family/
Online and in person support groups for family and friends with loved ones struggling with addiction. Educational materials and programs for family and friends online.

Parents of addicted loved ones – https://palgroup.org/
Provides Hope and support through addiction education for parents with a child struggling with addiction. Online resources, telephone support groups, and in person meetings (closest to Arlington is Dulles)

Caron Treatment Center Family Support Groups – https://www.caron.org/support-groups/parent-and-family-support-groups
Offers in person support groups for individuals with a loved one struggling with addiction throughout the region, free of charge.

Unity Club – http://www.unityclub.com/meetings.aspx
Holds several support groups a day including Al Anon, Ala teen, Adult Children of Alcoholics.

Virginia Hospital Center-
Concerned Persons Program: Tuesdays, 7 – 8 PM, 601 S Carlin Springs Rd, Arlington. Call 703-558-6750 for more information

National Capital Treatment and Recovery – https://www.natcaptreatment.org/community
Concerned Persons Group (For family members with a loved one in treatment or considering placing a loved one in treatment): Wednesdays, 6-7PM. 46 S Glebe Rd, Arlington

Grief Support

Addiction Loss Support Group: Meets the 2nd Monday of each Month, 7:00-8:30PM, St. Anne’s Episcopal Church, Room 1 (1700 Wainwright Dr., Reston, VA). For more information, contact Anne Atwood: anneatwood@comcast.net, 703-328-8847.

Grief Recovery After Substance Passing – http://grasphelp.org/
Offers grief related resources, online support, and in person support groups for individuals who have lost a loved one to an overdose.

Haven of Northern Virginia – www.havenofnova.org
Grief support groups and individual support from trained volunteers who have experience providing support to individuals who have lost a loved one to an overdose.

Compassionate Friends – https://www.compassionatefriends.org/
Grief support groups for parents who have lost a child. Local chapters and online meetings.

Celebrate lost loved ones: https://memorial.nsc.org/index.html


Visit our additional resources page here for even more resources