Arlington Honors Grassroots COVID-19 Heroes

Published on January 26, 2022

covid hero logo_ (002).png

The Arlington County Board honored recipients of the Arlington's COVID-19 Heroes award during its Recessed Board meeting on Jan. 25, 2022. The community-nominated awards celebrate Arlington residents, community groups, and businesses making significant impact in the fight against the effects of the pandemic.

"Thank you to our COVID heroes for choosing to serve. Despite all challenges, you chose Arlington – at times, even over your own health and safety," noted County Board Chair Katie Cristol. "Your community is grateful for your humanity and selfless dedication."


The County received 161 award nominations from people who live, work or spend significant time in Arlington, with 78 recipients selected.

"The unsung COVID-19 heroes being honored are outstanding examples of service, sacrifice, and community," said Dr. Aaron Miller, Director of the Department of Public Safety Communications and Emergency Management. "They continually drive forward efforts to help others through the pandemic."

The following individuals, businesses, and community groups were honored:

Community Resilience Award 
Acknowledging those supporting those residents disproportionately impacted by the pandemic.

  • Antonio Solis De Paz
  • David Guas
  • David Keppner
  • Gabriela Uro
  • Janeth Valenzuela
  • Lee Harper Chen
  • Rosa Dunkley
  • Rosalia Fajardo
  • Sue Mosher
  • Taishay Jones

Outstanding Individual Service Award
Acknowledging individuals who have supported others through the difficulties of the pandemic.

  • Alana McBride
  • Andrew Schneider
  • Angeline Barnes
  • Anna Weber
  • Anne Vor der Bruegge
  • Bob Risney
  • Carlos Velazquez
  • Chanda Choun
  • Cherie Harris
  • Christina Headrick
  • Chris Myers
  • Deborah Hartman
  • Debra Kirzner
  • Dennis Shannon
  • Frank Mirack
  • Jennifer Toussaint
  • Jill Jacobs
  • Julia Young
  • Les Garrison
  • Mariflor Ventura
  • Martha Casey
  • Martin Suydam
  • Melody Kisor
  • Michael Silverman
  • Mindy Klasky
  • Myra Ragan
  • Natalie Roy
  • Nidhi Reva
  • Paul Showalter
  • Reuben Varghese
  • Susan Thompson Gaines
  • Vanessa Fulton
  • Will Le

Outstanding Community Service Award (businesses and community groups)
Acknowledging businesses, groups, and organizations who have supported the community through the difficulties of the pandemic.

  • AHC Resident Services
  • APS School Food Service Employees and Managers
  • Arlington CERT
  • Arlington County Public Health
  • Arlington County Parks and Recreation - Youth & Family Programs
  • Arlington Democrats Latino Caucus
  • Arlington Food Assistance Center (AFAC)
  • Arlington Free Clinic
  • Arlington Neighborhood Village
  • Arlington Partnership for Affordable Housing (APAH)
  • Columbia Pike Revitalization Organization (CPRO)
  • Complete Vaccination Committee (CVC)
  • Culpepper Gardens
  • ENDependence Center of Northern Virginia
  • Freddie's Beach Bar
  • Good Company Doughnuts & Cafe
  • Harris Teeter Express Lane Team at Lee Harrison
  • Kenmore Wednesday Parent's Group
  • Macedonia Baptist Church
  • Mega Mart Supermarket
  • Million Mask Challenge
  • Neighborhood Health
  • Our Lady Queen of Peace Catholic Church
  • PathForward (formerly A-SPAN)
  • Regional Committee - Eviction Prevention and Community Stability
  • Safeway Pharmacy
  • Samuel Beckett's Irish Gastro Pub
  • Sloppy Mama’s BBQ
  • Sprout Kitchen Gardens
  • Virginia Medical Reserve Corps
  • Wesley Housing

Watch the full COVID Heroes Awards presentation

Related News

Page 1 of 225