Arlington Announces 2017 DESIGNArlington Winners

Published on December 19, 2017

  • Ten winning projects recognized for design excellence

  • New construction and renovations honored

  • Jury of local design professionals selected winners

The Arlington County Board today recognized ten 2017 DESIGNArlington award-winners, honoring achievements in outstanding architectural or landscape design in the County.

[caption id="attachment_14473" align="alignright" width="206"] Tellus -- Excellence Award[/caption]

"We created DESIGNArlington to encourage and acknowledge great architecture in public and private projects," Arlington County Board Chair Jay Fisette said. "By honoring creative, functional design that respects neighborhood character, we send a clear message to developers and design experts about what our community values in its built environment."

Judges examined 34 entries. The winners include public art, new construction and renovations of private homes and commercial spaces. Images of the winning works can be found on the DESIGNArlington website.

Awards of Excellence

  • Marymount University, academic building and site

    • Architect: Gensler; Landscape Architect: Studio 39

  • Tellus, site landscape

    • Landscape Architect: Parker Rodriguez, Inc.

  • Quill, public art

    • Artist: Christian Moeller; Architect: Davis Carter Scott

  • Lyon Park House, modern renovation

    • Architect: Robert M. Gurney, FAIA

  • Greene Residence, historic renovation

    • Architect: Fitzharris Designs, LLC

 Merit Award

[caption id="attachment_14474" align="alignright" width="300"]Modern Cedar Modern Cedar -- Merit Award[/caption]

  • Ten at Clarendon, 10th Street Flats

    • Architect: Bonstra | Haresign

  • Rosslyn Streetscape Elements, streetscape

    • Industrial Designer: Ignacio Ciocchini

  • The Springs, multi-family

    • Architect: KGD Architecture

  • Modern Cedar Addition, residential

    • Architect: Jon Hensley Architects

Honorable Mention

  • Hyatt Place Courthouse, hotel

    • Architect: WDG Architecture

Evaluation process

The entries were not in competition with each other, but rather evaluated on their own merits, including visual composition and aesthetics, sustainable design and development, accessibility to all people regardless of their age or ability, and preservation of historic buildings, façades, elements and character. A panel of jurors examined the quality of each overall design and determined the number of awards to be granted.

The five jurors were:

  • Dr. Elizabeth Morton, Ph.D, Associate Professor of Practice, Urban Affairs and Planning School of Public and International Affairs, Virginia Tech

  • Roxanne Edwards, Architect, McNeill Maker Design Associates

  • Bill Spack, Architect/Preservationist, Cox Graae + Spack Architects

  • Shawn M. Balon, ASLA, PLA, Career Discovery and Diversity Manager, American Society of Landscape Architects

  • Laurent Odde, Ph.D., Program Manager, Art in Transit, Washington Metro Area Transit Authority


DESIGNArlington is a biennial awards program established by the County Board to recognize and inspire excellent design in Arlington County by showcasing distinctive architecture of new and renovated buildings and well-designed public art and landscape projects. Launched in 2009, DESIGNArlington acknowledges the people whose design work enhances Arlington's built environment. Previous DESIGNArlington award-winning projects can be found online.