Capital Bikeshare Expansion Brings Station to National Airport

Published on December 03, 2020

For residents, visitors and airport workers who have long been interested in a carbon-free way of getting to Reagan National Airport, a new option is now available. This week Arlington County installed a Capital Bikeshare station at National Airport - making it the first major metropolitan airport in the United States served by a dock-based bikeshare system.

While many airports are located far from city centers and bike trails, National Airport is adjacent to one of the busiest bike trails in the region and a short bike ride away from Crystal City (just under one mile via the Mount Vernon Trail). The bikeshare station is located next to Garage B/C and just off the multi-use path where the Mount Vernon Trail comes onto airport property.

In December, five additional bikeshare stations will join the new airport station, bringing Arlington's total number of Capital Bikeshare stations to 99. The five other stations will boost service in some of the County's densest neighborhoods and improve access to federal properties in Arlington.

Here are Arlington's new Capital Bikeshare stations and their expected installation dates, weather permitting:

  • Reagan National Airport — installed

  • South Fern Street & Army Navy Drive - installed

  • North Fort Myer Drive & Arlington Boulevard — installation Dec. 8

  • South Hayes Street & 23rd Street South — installation Dec. 9

  • Wilson Boulevard & North Oak Street — installation Dec. 10

  • Arlington Boulevard & Fairfax Drive — installation Dec. 15

The new stations are funded through a U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Lands Access Program grant. The Access Program was established to improve transportation facilities that provide access to, are adjacent to, or are located within federal lands.

Capital Bikeshare is metro DC's bikeshare system, with more than 4,300 bikes available at 500 stations across seven jurisdictions: Washington, DC; Arlington, VA; Alexandria, VA; Montgomery County, MD; Prince George's County, MD; Fairfax County, VA; and the City of Falls Church, VA.