Arlington Design Awards Program Now Accepting 2019 Submissions

Published on October 02, 2019

Arlington County's biennial design awards program, DESIGNArlington, is accepting submissions for great design in architectural, historic preservation, landscape and public art projects through Tuesday, Nov. 19.

Established in 2009, DESIGNArlington seeks to highlight excellence and architectural diversity in the County's built environment. Winning residents, property owners, developers, architects or other members of the design community will be recognized in December.

Previous winners include Marymount University, Hyatt Place Courthouse, Rosslyn Streetscape, and several single-family homes.

MORE: See past DESIGNArlington winners

Eligible projects must have been completed since 2000 and may fall into any number of categories:

  • Residential (single- and multi-family)

  • Commercial

  • Institutional/Civic

  • Historic Preservation/Building Rehabilitation

  • Public Art

  • Open Space (plazas/parks/streetscapes)

  • Sustainable Design

The 2019 Call for Entries can be downloaded from the County's website for detailed information about the awards process, submission requirements and an entry form. Submissions must be received by the County by 5 p.m., Tuesday, November 19, 2019, for consideration.

An independent jury of architecture, urban design, historic preservation, public art and landscape design professionals will review all nominations and select several winners. Winners will be announced in December.