Arlington County Board Chair Fisette, Vice Chair Cristol Named to Reg

Published on January 06, 2017

Arlington County Board Chair Jay Fisette will serve as 2017 Vice Chair of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board. County Board Vice Chair Katie Cristol will serve as chair of the Northern Virginian Transportation Commission's Legislative Committee, and has joined the leadership of the Virginia Railway Express Operations Board.

"It is so important for Arlington to continue to provide strong leadership in our regional transportation organizations," Fisette said. "Smart transportation investments are critical to ensure our region's economy and quality of life. I want to ensure that the TPB is an effective forum for local and state leaders to make these decisions together."

Cristol also was elected Secretary of the Executive Committee of the Virginia Railway Express Operations Board, and will serve as Chair of the VRE Capital committee this year.

"I look forward to working together closely with other regional leaders on the many transportation issues that affect us all," she said. "Among my goals this year is coordinating with other regional bodies, advocates and service providers to articulate the story of how vital transit funding is to riders across our region in the run-up to the 2018 General Assembly session."

About the Transportation Planning Board

The TPB is the federally designated metropolitan planning organization for metropolitan Washington. The board works with local, state, regional and federal partners to coordinate future plans, provide data and analysis to decision makers and coordinate regional programs to advance safety, land-use coordination and more. Learn more about the TPB.

About NVTC

The central transit organization for Northern Virginia, NVTC offers a forum for dialog on transit issues, and regional transit analysis. It funds and stewards the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Agency (WMATA) and Virginia Railway Express (VRE). For more on NVTC, visit its website. NVTC's jurisdictions include Arlington, Fairfax and Loudoun counties and the cities of Alexandria, Falls Church and Fairfax. Its governing body includes 21 commissioners and four alternates.

About the Virginia Railway Express (VRE) Operations Board

The VRE is Virginia's only commuter rail system. The NVTC is co-owner of the VRE, with the Potomac and Rappahannock Transportation Commission. Fourteen commissioners make up the VRE Operations Board. They oversee all operating aspects of the VRE.