In 1943 the Fairlington Volunteer Fire Department was formed as a member unit of the Arlington County Volunteer Firemen’s Association. In 1944 a Chevrolet pumper was purchased by the Federal Government for the new fire station and the operation was leased to Arlington County to become Company Seven of the newly formed Arlington County Fire Department. Paid firefighters were assigned to augment the volunteer force and the station became an integral part of the Fairlington community. Its centralized location made the fire station a focus of the community, and close relationships formed, which still exist to this day between the citizens and “their fire company”. Ownership of the fire station was transferred to Arlington County, for a nominal sum, in 1949.
Over the ensuing decades the Fairlington community continued to grow and develop. This in turn led to increasing expectations of the fire/rescue responsibilities and capabilities. In order to ensure that the high level of service delivery that the community had come to depend on was not compromised the station underwent a renovation to allow room for a larger, modern fire engine and to create an improved work environment. The fire company spent the winter of 1982 in temporary housing, during the renovation, and re-occupied the station on January 31, 1983.
To this day Fire Station 7 (“The Little House”) continues to be a mainstay of the vibrant and robust Fairlington culture. Community outreach and involvement is a core tenet of the Arlington County Fire Department and is accomplished in a myriad of ways; from providing public demos for the various civic groups to cultivating a friendly, inviting atmosphere that receives multiple walk in visits from its neighbor’s on a daily basis. Annual events include the Fire Prevention Week Open House, 4th of July parade, and Santa’s ride through Fairlington atop E107.
|3116 South Abingdon Street|
Arlington, VA 22206
Click here for a detailed map.
E-mail Station Commander, Captain II Stilwell