Treasurer

Personal Property

 

All cities and counties in Virginia have a personal property tax.  Arlington County taxes cars, trucks, buses, motorcycles, motor homes, trailers, semitrailers, boats and aircraft.  Vehicles are also required to display a county decal.

Tax Assessments

Vehicle personal property taxes are assessed by the Commissioner of Revenue’s Office based on the tax rate set by the County Board and the value of your vehicle. 

Due Date –Residents without Newly Registered Vehicles

  • October 5

The due date is the same every year. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, late payment penalties will not be assessed for payments made on the following business day.

Due Dates – New Residents/Residents with Newly Registered Vehicles

  • If you are new to the County or have registered a new vehicle between July 16th and December 15th, taxes will be due within 60 days of registration with the Commissioner of Revenue's Office (note: this is not the same as registration with the Virginia DMV).  
  • Your tax bill will be mailed a minimum of 14 days before it is due.

Sold your vehicle or move out of Arlington County?

  • You are responsible for paying taxes for the part of the year you did own the vehicle/lived in Arlington.  
  • Check your bill to ensure that you are billed for the correct time period.  If an adjustment is necessary, contact the Commissioner of Revenue's Office at 703-228-3135 or vehicle (at) arlingtonva.us

CONTACT US

Office of the Treasurer
2100 Clarendon Blvd., Suite 201
Arlington, Virginia 22201

703-228-4000

E-mail: Treasurer (at) arlingtonva.us

Hours of Operation: 8 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday


Last Modified: April 09, 2014
2100 Clarendon Blvd. Arlington, VA 22201 Tel: 703-228-3000 TTY: 703-228-4611