To report suspected incidents of neglect, abuse or exploitation of an adult, contact:
These are services that the Department of Human Services is legally mandated* to provide for adults who are being abused, neglected or exploited and who are:
Protective Services to adults consist of the receipt and prompt investigation of reports of suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation. They include assessing, documenting and identifying the adult's service needs, and providing case management services.
Adults receiving protective services may live in their own homes; live with relatives; or reside in nursing homes, assisted living facilities, hospitals or group home facilities.
*Under Section 63.2-1603 to 1610 of the Code of Virginia
ABUSE means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury, or mental anguish; or unreasonable confinement. Examples include:
NEGLECT refers to nonexistent or insufficient care and support necessary to maintain a person's physical and/or mental health to the extent that his or her well-being is impaired or threatened. This may include:
EXPLOITATION means the illegal use of an incapacitated adult's resources for another's profit or advantage. This includes:
Anyone can report; however, mandated reporters are required by law to report suspected abuse, neglect, or exploitation of elderly persons or adults with disabilities immediately to Adult Protective Services (APS). Sexual abuse; death; serious bodily injury; or disease believed to be caused by abuse or neglect; and any criminal activity involving abuse or neglect that places the adult in imminent danger of death or serious bodily harm must be reported immediately to both APS and the local law enforcement agency.
Mandated reporters include:
Any financial institution that suspects that an adult customer has been exploited financially may report its concerns to APS. Visit the Virginia Department of Social Services Web site for a Web-based training course: Mandated Reporters for Adult Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation.
Failure to make a report by mandated reporters is punishable by a civil monetary penalty of not more than $500 for the first failure, and not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 for subsequent failures.
The Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Social Services determines and imposes the fine for all mandated reporters, except law enforcement. Adult Protective Services also refers matters as necessary to the appropriate licensing, regulatory or legal authority for administrative action or criminal investigation
* Under Section 18.2-369 of the Code of Virginia
Individuals reporting suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation are protected in two ways: